The Nelson Memo: Ensuring Free, Immediate, and Equitable Access to Federally Funded Research in the US

The Nelson Memo: Ensuring Free, Immediate, and Equitable Access to Federally Funded Research in the US

On August 25, 2022, the US Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) released a memo called Ensuring Free, Immediate, and Equitable Access to Federally Funded Researchand an accompanying media release. This memo, dubbed the Nelson Memo after Alondra Nelson, then acting Director of the OSTP, outlines public access (open access, OA) policy guidance for US federal agencies that fund research and development. Also released in August 2022 was the OSTP report Economic Landscape of Federal Public Access Policy, which examines potential economic effects of making federally funded research open access upon publication.

Open Access Monographs Update

Open Access Monographs Update

As discussed in the observation “Open Access Monographs,” published in March 2021, increasing attention has been paid in recent years to strategies for successfully publishing open access (OA) monographs and other long-form publications such as book chapters. Martin Eve and Anthony Cond described 2021 as “the year of the ‘starting pistol’” for OA books, with the release of Plan S guidelines for OA monographs, UK Research and Innovation’s (UKRI) new OA policy that for the first time applies to monographs, and the countdown to the UK’s next Research Excellence Framework (REF) (2021). This observation summarizes select developments related to OA monograph publishing over the past year.

CRKN’s Decolonizing Canadiana Metadata Project

CRKN’s Decolonizing Canadiana Metadata Project

In January 2022, the Canadian Research Knowledge Network (CRKN) announced that the first phase of its efforts to decolonize the metadata in the Canadiana collections was complete. This three-phase project was initially set out as part of CRKN’s 2019–2024 Strategic Plan and falls under its first strategic goal, to “transform scholarly communication.” Specifically, CRKN aims to “lead by example by increasing the accessibility and decolonized discoverability of the dynamic Canadiana collections, ensuring that this unique content is available for research and personal use, now and for future generations” (CRKN 2019, 3).

Altmetrics for Research Evaluation

Altmetrics for Research Evaluation

In recent years, there have been numerous calls to change research evaluation policies to rely less on journal-level citation metrics such as the Journal Impact Factor (JIF), including two key international initiatives. The San Francisco Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA), developed at the Annual Meeting of the American Society for Cell Biology in 2012, calls for the use of article-level metrics, greater transparency in research evaluation policies and procedures, and consideration of all types of research outputs, not just journal articles.

The State of Open Data 2021 Report

The State of Open Data 2021 Report

The State of Open Data 2021 report was released in November 2021. It is the sixth report in the series published by Springer Nature, Digital Science, and Figshare and presents the findings of a six-year longitudinal survey that gathered data about “researcher motivations, challenges, perceptions and behaviors toward open data” (Digital Science, 2021, 5).

Le mémo Nelson : Une politique d’accès public mis à jour aux États-Unis

Le mémo Nelson : Une politique d’accès public mis à jour aux États-Unis

Le 25 août 2022, l’Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) des États-Unis a publié un mémo intitulé Ensuring free, immediate, and equitable access to federally funded research et un communiqué de presse l’accompagnant. Ce mémo, appelé le mémo Nelson parce qu’il a été écrit par Alondra Nelson, en ce temps-là directrice par intérim de l’OSTP, présente les orientations politiques en matière d’accès public (libre accès) pour les agences fédérales américaines qui financent la recherche et le développement. Le rapport de l’OSTP Economic Landscape of Federal Public Access Policy, aussi publié en août 2022, examine les effets économiques potentiels du libre accès immédiat à la recherche financée par le gouvernement fédéral.

Une mise à jour sur les monographies en libre accès

Une mise à jour sur les monographies en libre accès

Comme indiqué dans l’observation « Les monographies en libre accès », publiée en mars 2021, une attention croissante a été accordée ces dernières années aux stratégies pour publier avec succès des monographies en libre accès et d’autres publications de versions longues que des chapitres de livre. Martin Eve et Anthony Cond ont décrit 2021 comme l’année du pistolet de départ pour les livres en libre accès, avec la publication des directives du Plan S pour les monographies, la nouvelle politique de libre accès de l’UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) qui s’applique pour la première fois aux monographies, et le compte à rebours au prochain Research Excellence Framework (REF) du Royaume-Uni (2021). Cette observation résume certains développements liés à la publication de monographies en libre accès au cours de l’année écoulée.

Le projet de la décolonisation des métadonnées de Canadiana du RCDR

Le projet de la décolonisation des métadonnées de Canadiana du RCDR

En janvier 2022, le Réseau canadien de documentation pour la recherche (RCDR) a annoncé que la première phase de ses efforts pour décoloniser les métadonnées des collections Canadiana était achevée. Ce projet en trois phases a été initialement défini dans le cadre du plan stratégique 2019-2024 du RCDR et relève de son premier objectif stratégique, « transformer les communications savantes ». Plus précisément, le RCDR vise à « Donnera l’exemple en augmentant l’accessibilité et la découvrabilité décolonisée des dynamiques collections de Canadiana, afin de garantir que ces contenus uniques sont disponibles pour la recherche et l’utilisation personnelle, dès maintenant et pour les générations à venir » (RCDR 2019, 3).

Les mesures alternatives pour l’évaluation de la recherche

Les mesures alternatives pour l’évaluation de la recherche

Ces dernières années, de nombreux appels ont été lancés pour modifier les politiques d’évaluation de la recherche afin de moins se compter sur les mesures de citation au niveau des revues telles que le Journal Impact Factor (JIF), y compris deux initiatives internationales clés. Le San Francisco Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA), élaborée lors de la réunion annuelle de l’American Society for Cell Biology en 2012, appelle à l’utilisation de mesures au niveau de l’article, à une plus grande transparence dans les politiques et procédures d’évaluation de la recherche et à la prise en compte de tous les types des résultats de la recherche, pas seulement des articles de revues.

Le rapport The state of open data 2021

Le rapport The state of open data 2021

Le rapport The state of open data 2021 (en anglais seulement) a été publié en novembre 2021. Il est le sixième rapport de la série publiée par Springer Nature, Digital Science et Figshare et présente les résultats d’une enquête longitudinale de six ans qui a recueilli des données sur les perceptions et comportements des chercheurs et chercheures concernant des données ouvertes si même que leurs motivations et défis (Digital Science, 2021, 5).